Saratoga D.A. James Murphy III

D.A. Murphy Appointed to Forensic Commission

Saratoga D.A. James Murphy III

Saratoga D.A. James Murphy III

SARATOGA COUNTY — Saratoga County District Attorney James A. Murphy III has been appointed by Governor Andrew Cuomo as a Member of the Commission on Forensic Science.

The 14-member Commission is empowered to develop minimum standards and a program of accreditation for all forensic laboratories in New York State. Accreditation of a forensic DNA laboratory is granted through the seven-member DNA Subcommittee, which also advises the Commission on any matter related to the implementation of scientific controls and quality assurance procedures for the performance of forensic DNA analysis.

In a release discussing the appointment, Murphy said “I am honored to have been appointed to the Commission to ensure that we maintain the best practices for all the forensic science labs in New York State. Only by having state of the art labs, vigilant testing and retesting, and disciplined protocols can we ensure that evidence is properly examined and useful in criminal cases.”

Murphy joins fellow members:

Chair: Michael C. Green, Executive Deputy Commissioner
New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

Kathleen Corrado, Ph.D., Director
Onondaga County Forensic Science Laboratories

New York State Police
Superintendent Joseph A. D’Amico
Albany, New York

District Attorney William J. Fitzpatrick
Onondaga County

Brian J. Gestring, Director
DCJS Office of Forensic Services
Albany, New York

Richard Jenny, Ph.D.
New York State Department of Health
Albany, New York

District Attorney James Murphy
Saratoga County

Peter J. Neufeld, Esq.
New York City

Marvin E. Schechter, Esq.
New York City

Barry E. Scheck, Esq.
New York City

Marina J. Staji, Ph.D., Director of Toxicology Laboratory
Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
New York City

Ann M. Willey, Ph.D.
Chatham, New York

Commissioner Nirav R. Shah, MD, MPH
New York State Department of Health


The Ballston Journal is Your Hometown News Source Since June 14, 1798. Covering the communities of Ballston Spa, Milton, Malta and Ballston in Southern Saratoga County.

Copyright © All rights reserved.