Ballston Spa Hall of Fame/The Ballston Journal Online

Athletics Hall of Fame Honorees Announced

BALLSTON SPA — The Ballston Spa Athletics Hall of Fame Committee has announced plans for the 2015 induction ceremony to take place on Saturday, May 9, 2015 from 3 p.m.-5 p.m. in the Ballston Spa High School auditorium, 220 Ballston Ave., Ballston Spa, NY.  A reception will follow at the school.

The BSAHF recognizes Ballston Spa alumni who have achieved outstanding accomplishments in the field of athletics. The 2015 Ballston Spa Athletics Hall of Fame honorees are:

  • Joe Bena – Coach
  • Julie Birbilis – Athlete
  • Ian Hogan – Athlete
  • Mark Lavery – Athlete
  • Tim McCrossen – Athlete
  • Robert and Beverly Staulters – Community
  • Ira Thomas – Honorary
  • Kim Zimbal – Athlete
  • 1949-1950 “The Iron Five ” Basketball Team – Team  John Campbell, James Delaney, Donald Deyo, Alfonse Funiciello, Robert Grose,   William Jurcsak,  William Kelley, James Namack, Robert Piester, Ed Rutkowski, Carroll Streever, Charles Thomas

To learn more about the BSAHF Committee and see the past inductes, visit

What do you think of this year’s selections? Have any special memories to share about the honorees of 2015? Tell us by logging in and posting your comment below!

Follow the Ballston Journal Online on Facebook and Twitter, too!


The Ballston Journal is Your Hometown News Source Since June 14, 1798. Covering the communities of Ballston Spa, Milton, Malta and Ballston in Southern Saratoga County.

Copyright © All rights reserved.